Mario Strahonja, a referee expert at the HRT Stadium, commented on the trial of the 32nd round of the HNL match held last weekend and paid special attention to two decisions that were much talked about.
The first situation is the match between Slaven Belupo and Dinamo. Marko Tolić emptied the Slaaven goalkeeper in the 64th minute and put Dinamo in the lead. The matchup on the goal line was Mislav Oršić and Bruno Goda, and the Slavin football player demanded a foul because he thought he prevented Goda from blocking the ball. . However, Strahonja pointed out that in this case, everything is clean.
“This is a difficult situation, but there is a connection between our two players. Their arms stretched out. Neither player had a chance to play, nor did it prevent other players from playing through contact. He said: “The room has been controlled, but there is no obvious error here. “
He also praised the response of the entire lineup in the 52nd minute. Then, Bosec fouled Guardiola and received a penalty and a red card, but after the intervention of VAR, it was determined that Guardiola was in the backcourt, so the previous decision (which was originally correct) was cancelled. Strahonja is especially grateful to Chief Justice Igor Pajač.
“The Joker judged confidently that he has returned to shape. He is full of confidence in every decision. It is very important that he proves that his decision can and should be trusted with his body language. He made some decisions about himself, but he showed He did it himself, calmly and attentively, and handled the whole situation,” he said.
Another controversial situation occurred in the match between Osijek and Varaždin. In the referee’s compensation, Varazdin plug Novoselec put his hands in the penalty area, and referee Dario Kulušić awarded a penalty after checking the VAR record. At first, it was difficult to conclude whether Novoselek or Santini took the lead, but Strahonia said that Kulušić made the right decision in a very difficult time. Varazdin’s goalkeeper Hokash finally defended Mierez’s shot, thus giving his team extra points.
“The referee can’t see this from his position. After the VAR intervention, he watched the video carefully, which was not easy at all in the final stage of the game. It was obvious that the defender first touched the ball with his hand. Strahonja concluded: “This is definitely a single pair of cards, the only possibility is a penalty kick.
He also praised Kulusic’s outstanding performance: “He has shown amazing progress. He has experienced a good test in this season’s game and maintained continuity.”